This series comprises reports compiled by sisters-in-charge of baby clinics/child centres throughout Queensland. These were sent to the Superintendent in charge of baby clinics on a monthly basis. The reports include the name of the clinic/centre, information relating to service activities, including statistics of attendances, birth notifications for the area, number of new cases, number of new borns visited, artificial and test feeds, lectures to mothers and children, as well as local relevant information such as the weather which had impacted on service delivery.
The first Maternal and Child Care Centre (Baby Clinic) was opened in Brunswick Street, Fortitude Valley on the 18 March 1918 by Mrs T J Ryan, wife of the Premier, followed by three further clinics at West End, Woolloongabba and Spring Hill also in 1918. The Division of Child Health (previously Infant Welfare/Child Welfare) operated residential and non-residential child care centres.
In the reports from Clinics and Residential Centres (previously known as Mothercraft Homes), personal details about mothers and children are specified.