This series comprises volumes of sittings of the Licensing Commission where applications for liquor licences under the Liquor Act, 1912 - 1988 were heard and determined. The Licensing Commission was established on 12 December 1935. and assumed the responsibility for issuing liquor licenses. From 1936 - 1947 the information given for each sitting is the number of each application, name of applicant, nature of application, locality, fee, receipt number, objections decision and remarks. From 1948 the information is the same but has the headings - sittings application number, name of applicant, name and situation of premises, nature of application, objections, fees, receipt number, how disposed of. Earlier sittings were usually signed by the Chairman plus one or two members of the Commission, later sittings were signed by one member.
However, under the "Liquor Acts Amendment Act 1973" the Licensing Commission was responsible for keeping the records of charges and complaints and registers of licences for club licences, liquor licences and billiard and bagatelle licences.
The Licensing Court of Queensland which was constituted in 1974 assumed responsibility for issuing licences. It was responsible for hearing and deciding on applications for licences in open Court by a District Judge.
The Licensing Commission (and Licensing Court were abolished), and the functions transferred to the Department of Tourism, Sport and Racing on 1 July 1992.