Rabbit Boards and Districts were first established under the Rabbit Boards Act, 1885. The Moreton Rabbit District was proclaimed by gazettal notice on 18 March 1905. The Board was constituted on 8 April 1905. The first election for Board members was held on 9 June 1905.
The purpose of the Boards was to undertake activities to prevent the incursion and migration of rabbits. As part of its duties, the Boards engaged in seeking out and destroying rabbits, and erecting, altering and reinforcing rabbit-proof fences.
Membership of the Boards was open to owners of runs within the defined districts. In addition to the elected pastoralists, an Inspector of Rabbits also sat on the Board.
The establishment of Boards, Districts and Board Membership was notified in the Queensland Government Gazettes.
The Carnarvon, Maranoa, Warrego, Mitchell, Gregory North, and Burke Rabbit Boards were abolished by The Grazing District Improvement Act of 1930. These were replaced in some areas by District Improvement Boards. The Act did not abolish the Leichhardt, Darling Downs or Moreton District Boards. One effect of the 1930 Act was to allow for the broadening of pest control efforts in Queensland to include other vermin such as wild pigs, rats, wallabies, dingos, foxes, hares, eagle hawks, etc.
The Darling Downs Rabbit Board and the Moreton Rabbit Board were abolished and re-created as the Darling Downs and Moreton Rabbit Board under the 1964 Rabbit Act which became operational on 1 May 1964.