Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID743
TitleCardwell Divisional Board
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 18/1/1884
End Date 30/3/1903
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Divisional Boards Acts to provide local administration and public services in areas outside municipalities.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
427Rate [loan] Books [microfilm] 1/1/1884 30/3/1903
17779Minute Books [microfilm] 25/8/1884 31/3/1903
508Valuation Registers [microfilm] 1/1/1885 30/3/1903
17782Record of Goods - Cardwell Jetty [microfilm] 17/11/1892 3/1/1903
509Mortgage Registers [microfilm] 1/1/1903 30/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
8481Public Works Department (I) 18/1/1884 12/12/1887
236Mines and Works Department 12/12/1887 4/1/1890
2723Public Works Department II 4/1/1890 30/5/1891
107Colonial Secretary's Office 30/5/1891 5/8/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 6/8/1896 30/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
555Cardwell Shire Council
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 1895, Vol LXIV, No 30, p. 345
Queensland Government Gazette 1887, Vol XLII, No 79, p. 1225
Queensland Government Gazette 1890, Vol XLIX, No 6, p. 97
Queensland Government Gazette 1891, Vol LIII, No 26, p. 286
Queensland Government Gazette, 6 Aug 1896, Vol LXVI, No 38, p. 345
Queensland Government Gazette, 30 Dec 1902, Vol LXXIX, No 163, p. 1453
Back to Top


Establishing Queensland Government Gazette 1884, Vol. XXXIV, No 14, p.170
Abolishing Queensland Statutes, 1900-1902, Vol.IX, pp. 8368 - 8369.
Administered Divisional Boards Act 1887
Back to Top
The "Divisional Boards Act of 1879" provided for local government for any part of the Colony not included in a municipality and proclaimed a Division. The first Divisional Boards were proclaimed on 11 November 1879. The Cardwell Divisional Board was established on 18 January 1884. Previously it was part of the Hinchinbrook Division. It became Cardwell Shire on the 31 March 1903.

The primary function of Divisional Boards was to provide such public services and amenities as: parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, water and sanitation services, roads, bridges, wharves, street lighting, public health services (such as immunisations), licences and registrations for businesses, markets and animals, town planning, and the control of noxious weeds and other pests.

Boards were also responsible for administering the Local Fund and for valuing properties within the Division for the purpose of determining and collecting rates. Boards could pass by-laws regarding all matters within its jurisdiction. All such by-laws required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

Divisional Boards submitted an annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister. By-laws created by Boards required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

Secretary for Public Works, 18 Jan 1884 - 11 Dec 1887
Secretary for Mines and Works, 12 Dec 1887 - 4 Jan 1890
Secretary for Railways and Public Works, 4 Jan 1890 - 12 Aug 1890
Secretary for Public Works, 12 Aug 1890 - 9 Jul 1891
Colonial Secretary, c. Jul 1891 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary, 6 Aug 1896 - 31 Mar 1903

Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID743, Cardwell Divisional Board
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form