In 1904 the Agriculture Department and the Stock Branch ceased to operate as separate entities, the Stock Branch was fully integrated into the department, and the name changed to the Agriculture and Stock Department.
The primary production responsibilities of the Agriculture and Stock Department included the following functions and activities:
land utilisation, soil conservation, irrigation, artificial breeding (1955), pest and disease control,
cold storage and transportation of fresh agricultural produce, quarantine, markets, supervision and inspection of exports,
sale of seed, agricultural experimentation, Sugar Experiment Stations, State Farms, promotion of agricultural products,
registration of livestock, encouragement of meat and dairy industries - and other industries including tobacco
agricultural education support,
subsidisation of agricultural societies,
preparation of agricultural statistics and development of standards,
the State Nursery, the Agricultural College (to 1923), Herbarium and Botany Branch, Botanic Gardens, Queensland Museum, the Agricultural Bank
In 1905 responsibility for fauna preservation was transferred to the Department, and over time other branches and functions were also added including the Bureau of Sugar Experiment Stations c. 1901, and a Publicity Branch, created c. 1920, which took over the publication of the "Agricultural Journal" (published from 1897); art works and photographs related to primary industries were produced for this and other publications.
In the post-World War II period, the Department was actively involved in land use and development projects, often in conjunction with the Lands Department.
In 1904, the office of the Agriculture and Stock Department under a Secretary (or Minister) for Agriculture comprised: an Under-Secretary for Agriculture who also acted as Chief Inspector of Stock and Sheep, Registrar of Brands, and Inspector under the Diseases in Plants Act; a Chief Clerk who acted as Deputy Chief Inspector of Stock and Sheep; Deputy Registrar of Brands and Secretary of Board of Stock Commissioners; other departmental officers included an Agricultural Chemist, Instructor in Fruit Culture, Colonial Botanist, Government Entomologist and Vegetable Pathologist, Tobaco Expert, Dairy Expert, Inspectors under the Diseases in Plants Act, Inspectors of Stock, Poultry Lecturer, Instructor in Tropical Agriculture, Artist and Photographer.
In 1945, the Department was reorganised and its various branches were grouped into divisions according to their activities: Administration, Animal Industry, Plant Industry, Land Utilisation, Dairying and Fisheries, and Marketing. Following a change of State Government, the Department was renamed, on 26 September 1963, the Department of Primary Industries.
Secretary for Agriculture 1 Jul 1904 - 7 Feb 1911
Secretary for Agriculture and Stock 7 Feb 1911 - 12 Aug 1957
Minister for Agriculture and Stock 12 Aug 1957 - 9 Jun 1960
Minister for Agriculture and Forestry 9 Jun 1960 - 26 Sep 1963
State Farms 1904 -
Stock Foods, Pure Seeds, Pests Destroyers and Fertilizers Branch 1922 -
Marketing Branch 1927
State Emergency Supply Committee 1941 - 1945