Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID2472
TitleSmall Debts Court, Springsure
Agency TypeMagistrates Court
Start Date 1/1/1863
End Date 3/4/1922
Date NotesN/A

The Small Debts Court dealt with cases relating to minor financial matters.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
5279Record Books 4/9/1879 18/6/1903
5161Plaint Books [Small Debts Court/Magistrates Court, Springsure] 12/1/1885 3/4/1922
5280Bailiff's Summons Books 5/2/1885 3/4/1922
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
107Colonial Secretary's Office 1/1/1863 29/7/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 30/7/1896 27/1/1904
19Department of Justice (I) 28/1/1904 3/4/1922
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Agency IDTitleRelationship
792Court of Petty Sessions, Springsureminor court
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Australian Courts Act 1828
Small Debts Recovery Act 1864
Small Debts Courts Act 1867
Queensland Government Gazette 1863, Vol IV, No 2, p. 5
Queensland Government Gazette 1867, Vol VIII, No 29, p. 1475
Queensland Government Gazette 1922, Vol CXVIII, No 99, p. 999
G.Hanson and Wm. Mayne, The Small Debts Courts Practice, Queensland Law Journal, 1901, pp.1-4, 34
Fry T. P., Australian Courts and Administrative Tribunals, University of Queensland, 1946, p.93
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing Magistrates Courts Act 1921
Administered Small Debts Courts Act 1867
Distress, Replevin and Ejectment Act 1867
Back to Top
The "Australian Courts Act of 1828" established courts possessing summary jurisdiction in certain types of civil matters involving the payment or recovery of small debts, known as Courts of Requests. The "Small Debts Recovery Act of 1846" and subsequent Queensland legislation of 1864 provided for Courts of Petty Sessions to administer such actions. The Court of Petty Sessions and therefore the Small Debts Court, Springsure was established on 1 January 1863.

Small Debts Courts were ultimately legislated in Queensland under the "Small Debts Courts Act of 1867". Under this legislation, Courts of Petty Sessions were deemed to be Small Debts Courts.

Under the Small Debts Courts Acts, Small Debts Courts were granted jurisdiction to hear claims for less than a specified amount in civil actions including personal actions, actions for the unliquidated balance of a partnership account, actions for a distributive share under an intestacy or for a legacy under a will, equity suits for recovery of money or damages, actions for replevin concerning distress for rent, summary actions for ejectment between lessors and lessees, and complaints for maintenance.

Under the "Magistrates Courts Act 1921", from 3 April 1922, all Small Debts Courts were deemed to be Magistrates Courts and all officers of Small Debts Courts were deemed to be officers of Magistrates Courts. Under this legislation, the Small Debts Court, Springsure was deemed to be the Magistrates Court, Springsure.

Colonial Secretary 1 Jan 1863 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary 6 Aug 1896 - 27 Jan 1904
Attorney General 27 Jan 1904 - 19 Nov 1907
Minister of Justice 19 Nov 1907 - 18 Feb 1908
Attorney General 18 Feb 1908 - 22 Oct 1919
Minister of Justice 22 Oct 1919 - 7 Apr 1920
Attorney General 7 Apr 1920 - 3 Apr 1922
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID2472, Small Debts Court, Springsure
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form