Nundah Divisional Board was established by the Divisional Boards Act of 1879 with the boundaries of the new Board gazetted on 11 November 1879. Householders then had sixty days to elect their own governing boards and if they failed to do this the Governor in Council was given the authority to appoint board members.
The Board was responsible for constructing and maintaining all public highways, streets, bridges, ferries, wharves, wells, reservoirs and other necessary public works within their division. They were to accomplish this with the funds raised through rates, tolls and rents of tolls and state government grant money. Boards were also given powers to help them achieve this, such as the ability to resume land for public purposes, and other miscellaneous provisions regarded as the domain of local authorities (eg. arranging the burial of destitute people).
For electoral purposes, the Board was divided into three subdivisions each of which could elect 3 representatives. The names of the first elected members of the Board were gazetted on 13 February 1880.
After the initial appointments, the Board was to hold annual elections where one-third of the members were to be re-elected and a vote was to be taken to determine the auditors for the coming year.
Changes to the initial boundaries of the Division of Nundah occurred in November 1883 when a new Division of Toombul was created from part of Nundah. A second change occurred in January 1901, when Nundah Division was renamed as Kedron Division by an order in council and the board correspondingly changed its name to the Kedron Divisional Board.
Kedron Divisional Board was abolished in 1902 by the Local Authorities Act which replaced all of the boards with a new system of city, town and shire councils. The Kedron Divisional Board was succeeded by the Kedron Shire Council.