Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1899
TitleToowoomba Municipal Council
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 24/11/1860
End Date 31/3/1903
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Municipal [Institutions]/Local Government Acts to provide local administration and public services in municipalities.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
6315Rate Books 1/1/1861 31/3/1903
6318Valuation Registers 1/1/1861 31/3/1903
3724Minute Books 4/1/1861 16/3/1903
17776Committee Report Books 4/2/1861 31/3/1903
18977Letterbooks 3/8/1867 31/3/1903
6319Rate Assessment Books 1/1/1870 31/12/1879
18980General Correspondence 1/4/1874 31/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
107Colonial Secretary's Office 24/11/1860 5/8/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 6/8/1896 31/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
1900Toowoomba Town Council
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Municipalities Act 1858 (NSW)
Queensland Government Gazette, 1860, No. 71, p. 415
Local Authorities Act, 1902
Back to Top


Establishing Municipalities Act 1858 (NSW)
Abolishing Local Authorities Act 1902
Administered Municipalities Act 1858 (NSW)
Local Government Act 1878
Back to Top
The town of Toowoomba was declared to be a Municipality under the "Municipalities Act of 1858" (NSW) on 24 November 1860.

The function of Municipal Councils under the "Local Government Act 1878" was to generally maintain "the good rule and government of the municipality", and specifically to provide and manage such public services and amenities as: parks and reserves, libraries, schools of arts and other recreational facilities and places of improvement; cemeteries; water and sanitation services; roads, bridges, wharves; street lighting; public health services including control of contagious and infectious diseases; fire prevention; the regulation of building construction, and the regulation of and issuing of licences including those for exhibitions and markets, carriers and carters, slaughter-houses and abattoirs.

Municipal Councils were also responsible for the administration of the Municipal Fund and the valuation of properties within the municipality for the purpose of determining and collecting rates. Councils could pass by-laws regarding all matters within their jurisdiction, but all such by-laws required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

Every municipality was governed by a council composed of a chairman and six, nine or twelve councillors. If the municipality was subdivided, three councillors were assigned to each subdivision.

Colonial Secretary 24 Nov 1860 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary 6 Aug 1896 - 31 Mar 1903

Under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", Municipal Councils became Town Councils, and Toowoomba Municipal Council became Toowoomba Town Council on 31 March 1903.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1899, Toowoomba Municipal Council
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form