Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1888
TitleTiaro Shire Council II
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 31/3/1903
End Date 15/3/2008
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Local Government/Authorities Acts to provide local administration and public services outside of major urban areas

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
18630Receipt and Rate Cash Books [Tiaro Shire Council] 31/3/1903 24/10/1966
18625Valuation and Rate Books [Tiaro Divisional Board and Tiaro Shire Council] 31/3/1903 31/12/1966
18626Minute Books 31/3/1903 17/8/1979
18631Rate Books [Tiaro Divisional Board, Tiaro Shire Council] 31/3/1903 31/12/1996
18635Burial Register - Munna Creek Cemetery 2/10/1907 11/6/1994
18648Munna Creek Cemetery Register of Grants 27/3/1909 6/8/1964
18642Ledger 19/2/1917 31/12/1928
18644Cleansing Services and Sanitary Registers 1/1/1918 30/6/1966
18643Infectious Disease Register 30/12/1927 28/4/1954
18636Burial Register - Tiaro Cemetery 31/12/1990 3/3/2001
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
123Home Secretary's Office 31/3/1903 5/12/1935
126Health and Home Affairs Department 5/12/1935 10/12/1941
231Local Government Department I 10/12/1941 7/12/1989
248Housing and Local Government Department 7/12/1989 24/9/1992
249Department of Housing, Local Government and Planning 24/9/1992 26/2/1996
10727Department of Local Government, Sport and Recreation 26/2/2004 15/3/2008
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 16 Feb 1884, Vol. XXXIV, No. 25, p. 407
Queensland Government Gazette 18 Dec 1886, Vol. XXXIX, No. 127, p. 2323
Local Government Act 1902
Queensland Government Gazette 13 Dec 1941, Vol CLVII, No 157, p1998
Queensland Government Gazette 7 Dec 1989, Vol CCXCII, No 117, p2479
Local Government Reform Implementation Act 2007
Local Government (Areas) Regulation 2008, Schedule 1
Queensland Subordinate Legislation 2008, nos. 23-26
"What's happened to my Council", Report of the Local Government Reform Commission 2008, vol. 1, pp. 14 - 26
Tiaro Shire Council, "About Tiaro Shire, viewed 7 mar 2008,<>
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing N/A
Administered Local Authorities Act 1902
Local Government Act 1936
Local Governemtn Act 1993
Back to Top
Tiaro Shire was first established on 9 Feb 1884 from part of Tiaro Division but this Shire was abolished and the area returned to the Division on 16 Dec 1886. Tiaro Shire was subsequently established on 31 Mar 1903 whenTiaro Divisional Board became Tiaro Shire Council under the "Local Authorities Act 1902".

Under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", the primary function of Shire Councils was to provide such public services and amenities as parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, water and sanitation services, roads, bridges, wharves, street lighting, public health services (such as immunisations), licences and registrations for businesses, markets and animals, town planning, and the control of noxious weeds and other pests.

The Council was also responsible for administering the Local Fund, and for valuing properties within the Shire for the purpose of determining and collecting rates.
The Council could pass by-laws regarding all matters within its jurisdiction. All such by-laws required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

The Shire Council included a chairman, town clerk and a number of other members. From time to time, the Council could appoint committees for special or general purposes. Council also appointed its own officers, who were paid from the Local Fund.
Each year the Minister appointed an independent auditor to review the financial statements of the Council. The Council submitted an Annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister, which was published in the Government Gazette.

On 15 March 2008, Divisions 1 and 2 of Tiaro Shire amalgamated with Maryborough City and Hervery Bay City and Woocoo Shire to form the Fraser Region, and Division 3 amalgamated with Cooloola and Kilkivan Shires to form the Gympie Region.

Fraser Region: Divisions 1 and 2: (northern areas: Division 1 - the area north of Ooramera Creek, Redbank Road and Tahiti Road, including the Town of Tiaro and the areas of Antigua, Mungar, Owanyilla, Pilerwa, Pioneers Rest, St Mary, and Thinoomba; Division 2 - the areas of Bauple, Bauple Forrest, Glenwood, Gootchie, Gundiah, Glenbar, Kanigan, Mount Urah, Munna Creek, Netherby, Paterson, Talegalla and Tinnanbar).

Gympie Region: Division 3: (Theebine/Gunalda areas - the area generally south of Blowers Road, Wards Road and Ularrah Creek, including Anderleigh, Curra, Glen Echo, Gunalda, Miva Neerdie, Scotchy Pocket and Theebine).


Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1888, Tiaro Shire Council II
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form