Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1880
TitleTarampa Divisional Board
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 15/1/1880
End Date 31/3/1903
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Divisional Boards Acts to provide local administration and public services in areas outside municipalities.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
5660General Cash Book 1/6/1880 28/2/1892
3981Rate Books 1/1/1885 31/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
8481Public Works Department (I) 15/1/1880 12/12/1887
236Mines and Works Department 12/12/1887 4/1/1890
2723Public Works Department II 4/1/1890 9/7/1891
107Colonial Secretary's Office 9/7/1891 5/8/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 6/8/1896 31/5/1903
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Divisional Boards Act 1879
Queensland Government Gazette 11 Nov 1879, Vol. XXV, No. 75
Divisional Boards Act 1887
Executive Minute 9 Jul 1891
Queensland Government Gazette 1896, Vol LXVI pp345, 400
Local Authorities Act 1902
Back to Top


Establishing Divisional Boards Act 1879
Abolishing Local Authorities Act 1902
Administered Local Government Act 1878
Divisional Boards Act 1879
Divisional Boards Act 1887
Back to Top
The Tarampa Divisional Board, which held its first meeting on 20 February 1880, was established on 15 January 1880 under the Divisional Boards Act 1879. The Board was constituted of nine elected members (including a Chairman). Three members of the Board represented each of the three subdivisions.

The Division of Laidley, and its two subdivisions, were formed when Laidley broke away from the Tarampa Division. A third subdivision was created on 25 July when Forrest Hill was annexed by the Laidley Division. The Tarampa Divisional Board became the Tarampa Shire Council under the Local Government Act 1902.
The primary function of the Tarampa Divisional Board was to provide such public services and amenities as: parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, water and sanitation services, roads, bridges, wharves, street lighting, public health services (such as immunisations), licences and registrations for businesses, markets and animals, town planning, and the control of noxious weeds and other pests.

The Board was also responsible for administering the Local Fund and for valuing properties within the Division for the purpose of determining and collecting rates. The Board could pass by-laws regarding all matters within its jurisdiction. All such by-laws required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

The Board submitted an annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister. By-laws created by the Board required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.
Secretary for Public Works and Mines 11 Nov 1879 - 12 Dec 1887
Secretary for Mines and Works 12 Dec 1887 - 4 Jan 1890
Secretary for Railways and Public Works 4 Jan 1890 - 12 Aug 1890
Secretary for Public Works 12 Aug 1890 - 9 Jul 1891
Colonial Secretary 9 Jul 1891 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary 6 Aug 1896 - 31 Mar 1903
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1880, Tarampa Divisional Board
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form