Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1810
TitleSmall Debts Court, Nanango
Agency TypeMagistrates Court
Start Date 31/12/1867
End Date 3/4/1922
Date NotesN/A

The Small Debts Court dealt with cases relating to minor financial matters.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
8173Record Books 1/2/1874 17/12/1913
8185Summons Book 1/1/1885 3/4/1922
8174Minute Books 12/1/1886 3/4/1922
8182Bailiff's Book 1/1/1887 3/4/1922
8180Registers of Writs of Fi Fa (Fieri Facias) 1/1/1887 31/12/1922
8181Debt Attachment Book 1/1/1897 3/4/1922
8175Plaint Books [Magistrates Court, Nanango] 18/1/1912 3/4/1922
10566Australian Register of Judgments 14/9/1912 14/9/1912
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
107Colonial Secretary's Office 31/12/1867 29/7/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 29/7/1896 27/1/1904
19Department of Justice (I) 27/1/1904 3/4/1922
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
1347Magistrates Court, Nanango
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Agency IDTitleRelationship
775Court of Petty Sessions, Nanangominor court
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 1867, Vol VIII, No 29, p. 1475
Queensland Government Gazette 1922, Vol CXVIII, No 99, p. 999
Australian Courts Act 1828
Small Debts Recovery Act 1846
Justices Act 1886
Penberthy Fry, T., Australian Courts and Administrative Tribunals, University of Queensland, 1946
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing Magistrates Courts Act 1921
Administered Small Debts Courts Act 1867
Distress, Replevin and Ejectment Act 1867
Back to Top
The "Australian Courts Act of 1828" established courts possessing summary jurisdiction in certain types of civil matters involving the payment or recovery of small debts, known as Courts of Requests. The "Small Debts Recovery Act of 1846" and subsequent Queensland legislation of 1864 provided for Courts of Petty Sessions to administer such actions.

Small Debts Courts were ultimately legislated in Queensland under the "Small Debts Courts Act of 1867". Under this legislation, Courts of Petty Sessions were deemed to be Small Debts Courts.

Under this Act and the "Justices Act 1886", the establishment by the Governor in Council of a place for the holding of a court of petty sessions was deemed to establish a small debts court. This Act, which took effect from 31 December 1867, established the Small Debts Court, Nanango.

Under the "Magistrates Courts Act 1921", from 3 April 1922 onwards all small debts courts were deemed to be magistrates courts and all officers of small debts courts were deemed to be officers of magistrates courts. Under this legislation, the Small Debts Court, Nanango was deemed to be the Magistrates Court, Nanango.

Under the "Small Debts Courts Acts 1867-1894" and further amending legislation, small debts courts were granted jurisdiction to hear claims for moneys less than a specified amount in the following civil actions: personal actions, actions for the unliquidated balance of a partnership account, actions for a distributive share under an intestacy or for a legacy under a will, equity suits for recovery of money or damages, actions for replevin concerning distress for rent, summary actions for ejectment between lessors and lessees, and complaints for maintenance.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1810, Small Debts Court, Nanango
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form