Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1754
TitleSamford Cemetery Trust
Agency TypeBoard or Committee
Start Date 10/12/1896
End Date 12/1/1956
Date NotesN/A

Responsibility for maintenance of local cemeteries

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
16663Minute Book N/A N/A
17255Cemetery Registers - Samford Cemetery / Samford Lawn Cemetery 10/12/1896 12/1/1956
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
123Home Secretary's Office 10/12/1896 5/12/1935
126Health and Home Affairs Department 5/12/1935 12/1/1956
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
11690Pine Shire Council
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 1879, Vol. XXIV, No. 94, p. 1176
Queensland Government Gazette 1896, Vol. LXVI, No. 152, p. 1353
Queensland Government Gazette 1956, Vol. CXCI, No. 7, p. 63
Tracks and Times: A History of the Pine Rivers District, L.S.Smith, ed., Pine Rivers Shire Council, 1988, p. 182
Cemetery Act 1865
Crown Lands Alienation Act 1867
Crown Lands Acts 1884-1889
Local Authorities Acts 1902-1935
Local Government Acts 1936-1955
Land Acts 1910-1955
Back to Top


Establishing Cemetery Act 1865
Crown Lands Act 1884-1889
Abolishing Local Government Acts 1936-1955
Lands Acts 1910-1955
Administered N/A
Back to Top
The Cemetery Act 1865, which repealed Section 75 of the Municipal Institutions Act 1864 empowered the Governor-in-Council to appoint trustees to hold land in trust for the establishment or purpose of a public cemetery. The Samford Cemetery Reserve was proclaimed under the Crown Lands Alienation Act 1876 on 23 May 1879. Trustees were appointed to manage the Samford Cemetery on 10 Dec 1896, under the Crown Lands Act 1884.

Cemetery trustees had powers to enclose the land granted in trust for cemetery purposes and were responsible for the administration, upkeep and maintenance of the cemetery. Rules, regulations, accounts, trustee appointments and notification of closing of the cemetery were required to be published in the Government Gazette.

The Local Authorities Act 1902, and subsequently the Local Government Act 1936 empowered the Governor-in-Council to authorise local authorities to assume, from existing trusts, the management and control of cemeteries so proclaimed. In addition, the act granted local authorities the power to take land and erect or construct buildings to be used for or in conjunction with cemeteries. On 12 Jan 1956, the Council of the Shire of Pine was appointed trustee for the Samford Cemetery Reserve under the Land Acts 1910-1955, in place of the existing Samford Cemetery Trust.

Home Secretary 10 Dec 1896 - 5 Dec 1935
Secretary for Health and Home Affairs 5 Dec 1935 - 12 Jan 1956
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1754, Samford Cemetery Trust
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form