Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1613
TitleWhitsunday Shire Council
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 19/1/1910
End Date 15/3/2008
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Local Government/Authorities Acts to provide local administration and public services outside of major urban areas

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
19447Alterations to Rate Book 1/1/1902 31/12/1952
3538Rate Books (Prosperpine) 1/1/1910 31/12/1988
1367Minute Books 22/3/1910 26/2/2008
19450Legal Papers 1/1/1912 31/12/1950
19448Audit Book 27/5/1912 30/11/1994
19439Rate Cash Books 1/1/1914 31/12/1926
19440Cash Book 1/1/1919 31/12/1955
19442Election Papers 1/1/1920 31/12/1949
19449Register of Legal Documents 23/3/1924 31/12/1960
19948Infectious Disease Register 1/1/1926 31/12/1967
19435Building Plans 1/1/1930 31/12/1940
19946Finance Journal 1/1/1941 31/12/1960
19947Contract Register 1/1/1955 31/12/1973
19434Shire Clerk Reports 1/1/1955 31/12/1994
19452Officers Reports to Council 2/3/1972 4/6/1990
19443Consulting Engineers Subdivision and Town Planning Reports 12/4/1978 8/9/1989
19433Agendas - Proserpine Shire Council (later Whitsunday) 15/9/1980 15/3/2008
19445Minute Book 28/3/1983 11/4/1988
19936Rate Books 1/7/1988 30/6/2000
19446Agenda and Minute Book 26/5/1989 23/3/1995
19943Minutes and Agenda Books 26/6/1990 31/8/1995
19938Land Development Reports 1/8/1990 2/10/1992
19941Agendas, Reports and Correspondence 12/6/1991 31/3/1998
19622Reports and correspondence 30/9/1991 18/12/1996
19944Chief Executive Officer Reports 1/1/1994 31/12/1994
19444Minute Book 13/3/1995 8/8/1995
19939Special Meeting Agendas 10/1/1997 7/9/2001
19940Planning and Environment Committee Agenda books 21/1/1997 4/2/1998
19942Works Committee Agendas 15/4/1997 4/2/1998
19623Agendas and correspondence 16/2/2000 3/6/2003
19945Meeting Information Books 27/3/2000 14/12/2004
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
123Home Secretary's Office 19/1/1910 5/12/1935
126Health and Home Affairs Department 5/12/1935 10/12/1941
231Local Government Department I 10/12/1941 7/12/1989
248Housing and Local Government Department 7/12/1989 24/9/1992
249Department of Housing, Local Government and Planning 24/9/1992 26/2/1996
10727Department of Local Government, Sport and Recreation 26/2/2004 15/3/2008
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
11036Whitsunday Regional Council
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 1910, Vol. XCIV, No.19, p.181
Queensland Government Gazette 1989, Vol. CCXCII, No.117, p. 2479
Queensland Government Gazette 1989, Vol.CCXC, No.50, p.1234
Queensland Government Directory, 1997, pp.112-113.
Queensland Government Directory, 1999, pp 70-71
Local Government, Planning, Sport and Recreation Department, "What councils do", viewed 17 Dec 2004
Local Government Reform Implementation Act 2007
Local Government (Areas) Regulation 2008, Schedule 1
Queensland Subordinate Legislation 2008, nos. 23-26
"What's happened to my Council", Report of the Local Government Reform Commission 2008, vol. 1, pp. 14 - 26
Local Government, Sport and Recreation Department, "Implementation Regulation", viewed 28 Feb 2008,

Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing N/A
Administered Local Authorities Act 1902
Local Government Act 1936
Local Government Act 1993
Back to Top
The "Local Authorities Act 1902" abolished divisional boards and created city, town and shire councils. Proserpine Shire Council was established from part of Wangaratta Shire on 19 Jan 1910. The first election of Councillors was held on 11 March 1910. The Council changed its name to Whitsunday Shire on 18 Feb 1989.

Under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", the primary function of Shire Councils was to provide such public services and amenities as parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, water and sanitation services, roads, bridges, wharves, street lighting, public health services (such as immunisations), licences and registrations for businesses, markets and animals, town planning, and the control of noxious weeds and other pests.

The Council was also responsible for administering the Local Fund, and for valuing properties within the Shire for the purpose of determining and collecting rates.
The Council could pass by-laws regarding all matters within its jurisdiction. All such by-laws required the assent of the Governor-in-Council.

Under the "Local Government Act 1993" Shire Councils through local laws promote economic development; own and manage public infrastructure including roads and public works, sewerage, and water storage and distribution; regulate activities which affect the environment including air, noise and water quality, land use and waste disposal, pests and noxious weeds, and building control; provide community services including recreational and cultural facilities and public health services.
Councils generate revenue from rates, grants and subsidies from state and federal governments, service charges, and loans for major projects.

The Shire Council, under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", included a chairman, town clerk and a number of other members. From time to time, the Council could appoint committees for special or general purposes. Council also appointed its own officers, who were paid from the Local Fund.

Each year the Minister appointed an independent auditor to review the financial statements of the Council. The Council submitted an annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister, which was published in the Government Gazette.

The Council consisted of a mayor and 7 divisional councillors, and administration was the responsibility of a Chief Executive Officer. The Council administered the towns of Proserpine, Airlie Beach, Cannonvale, Shute Harbour, Conway & Wilson Beach, Dingo Beach and Hydeaway Bay. The Shire also covered islands of the Whitsunday including resorts such as Hayman, Hamilton and Daydream Island.

On 15 March 2008, Whitsunday Shire amalgamated with the Bowen Shire to form the Whitsunday Region.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1613, Whitsunday Shire Council
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form