Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID1453
TitleNorth Brisbane Hospitals Board
Agency TypeHealth/Hospital Service
Start Date 13/6/1959
End Date 1/7/1991
Date NotesN/A

Responsible for hospital administration

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
5115Board and Committee Minute Books 13/6/1959 31/12/1964
5119Agenda Books 18/5/1961 27/11/1986
5114Minute Books 17/1/1963 18/12/1986
5120Committee Minute Books 1/1/1965 31/12/1987
5122Indexes to Agenda Books 1/1/1967 31/12/1983
18511Reference Schedule 1/1/1978 31/12/1979
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
126Health and Home Affairs Department 13/6/1959 26/9/1963
105Department of Health 26/9/1963 1/7/1991
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
102Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital 13/6/1959 1/7/1991
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Queensland Government Gazette 1924, Vol CXXI,I No 114, p.1369
Queensland Government Gazette 1959, Vol. CCI, No. 65, p. 1313
Queensland Yearbook 1960
Annual Report of the Department of Health, 1991-1992, p.58
Queensland Government Gazette, 22 June 1991, Vol. CCXCVII, No. 64, p.974
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing The Health Services Act 1991
Administered The Hospitals Act 1923
The Hospitals Act 1936
Back to Top
The Brisbane and South Coast Hospitals Board was constituted under the "Hospitals Act of 1923". The Act establishing the board was assented to on 23 November 1923 and members had to be elected/appointed by 24 May 1924. Areas covered included the cities of Brisbane and South Brisbane; the towns of Coolangatta, Hamilton, Ithaca, Redcliffe, Sandgate, Southport, Toowong, Windsor and Wynnum; the shires of Balmoral, Beenleigh, Belmont, Caboolture, Cleveland, Coomera, Coorparoo, Enoggera, Kedron, Moggill, Nerang, Pine, Sherwood, Stephens, Tambourine, Taringa, Tingalpa, Toombul, Waterford and Yeerongpilly.

An order in council was published on 13 June 1959 stating that the part of the Brisbane and South Coast Hospitals comprising that part of the City of Brisbane south of the Brisbane River, the Shire of Beaudesert and the Shire of Redland shall be excluded from the current district and be constituted as a new district called the "South Brisbane Hospitals Board". The remaining portion of the Brisbane and South Coast Hospitals Board was then renamed as the "North Brisbane Hospitals Board". The board was responsible for the ten hospitals within its geographical boundary.

The Board was charged with the maintenance, management and regulation of all hospitals within its geographical boundary.

The North Brisbane Hospitals Board membership was determined by:
a) the election of 3 members by the contributors to any hospital within the district
b) the appointment of 3 members by the Governor in Council
c) the election of 3 members by the various Local Authorities

Minister for Health and Home Affairs, 6 Jun 1959 - 26 Sep 1963
Minister for Health 26 Sep 1963 - 6 Feb 1986
Minister for Health and Environment 6 Feb 1986 - 9 Dec 1987
Minister for Helath 9 Dec 1987 - 31 Aug 1989
Minister for Health and Attorney-General 31 Aug 1989 - 25 Sept 1989
Minister for Health 25 Sept 1989 -

The "Health Services Act 1991" provided for the dissolution of Hospital Boards and their replacement with Regional Health Authorities. The North Brisbane Hospitals Board was succeeded by the Brisbane North Regional Health Authority on 1 July 1991.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID1453, North Brisbane Hospitals Board
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form