By Order in Council, under the Local Authorities Acts 1902-1913, the Bell Bridge Board was established as a Joint Local Authority on 20 January 1916. It was constituted by the union of the Councils of the City of Gympie and the Shires of Kilkivan, Widgee and Tiaro.
Prior to the establishment of the Board, Bell Bridge Joint Committee meetings relating to a proposed bridge at O'Leary's Crossing were held between the Kilkivan and Widgee Shire Councils from 11 May 1907 - 2 March 1912.
The Board was constituted to:
- construct and maintain Bell Bridge over the Mary River at O'Leary's Crossing
- make and enforce by-laws with respect to matters mentioned in subdivisions 32, 62 (xxi, xiv), and 64
The Joint Local Authority consisted of six members, of whom two each were elected by the Councils of the Shires of Kilkivan and Widgee and one each elected by the Councils of the City of Gympie and the Shire of Tiaro. Expenses were defrayed out of a common fund, to which the Shire of Kilkivan and Shire of Widgee contributed 40% each, City of Gympie 15% and the Shire of Tiaro 5%. The first meeting of the Bell Bridge Joint Board was held at the Widgee Shire Office, Gympie on the 19 February 1916.
The Bell Bridge Board was dissolved by Order in Council on 17 May 1935. All the rights, assets and liabilities of the Board were apportioned to the Shires of Kilkivan, Widgee and Tiaro, and City of Gympie in the proportions respectively set in the original Order.
Note: Minutes refer to the Committee and the Board as the "Bell's Bridge Committee/Bell's Bridge Board".