Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID11850
TitleCourt of Petty Sessions, Stanthorpe
Agency TypeMagistrates Court
Start Date 17/5/1872
End Date 31/12/1964
Date NotesN/A

Held original jurisdiction in minor criminal cases

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
21120Bills of Sale Register (Court of Petty Sessions, Stanthorpe) 1/1/1906 31/12/1964
21248Record of Applications (Liquor) - Stanthorpe 25/11/1935 31/12/1964
21247Registers of Liquor Licences - Stanthorpe 25/11/1935 31/12/1964
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
107Colonial Secretary's Office 17/5/1872 29/7/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 29/7/1896 27/1/1904
19Department of Justice (I) 27/1/1904 31/12/1964
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Agency IDTitle
11881Licensing Court, Stanthorpe
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Agency IDTitleRelationship
11853Children's Court, StanthorpeMagistrates Court, Stanthorpe
2122Circuit Court, StanthorpeCourt, Stanthorpe
11852District Court, StanthorpeCourt, Stanthorpe
11851Small Debts Court, StanthorpeCourt, Stanthorpe (minor court)
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Imperial Act 27 George III
An Act for regulating the police in the towns of Parramatta, Windsor, Maitland, Bathurst and other towns respectively and for removing and preventing nuisances and obstructions and for the better alignment of streets therein (2 Victoria, No 2)
An Act to adopt and apply certain Acts of Parliament passed for facilitating the performance of duties of justices of the peace and for protecting them from vexatious actions and to prevent persons convicted of offences from taking undue advantage of mere defects or errors in form (14 Victoria, No 43)
Justices Act 1886
Justices Act Amendment Act 1964
Penberthy Fry, T., Australian Courts and Administrative Tribunals, University of Queensland, 1946, p. 139
New South Wales Government Gazette 1850, Vol 1, p. 249
Queensland Government Gazette 1964, Vol CCXVII, No 41, p. 827
Queensland Government Gazette 1872, Vol XIII, No. 44, p. 807
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing Justices Act Amendment Act 1964
Administered N/A
Back to Top
Under the First and Second Charters of Justice (proclaimed in 1787 and 1814 respectively under the authority of Imperial Act 27 George III) justices of the peace appointed by the Governor were granted summary jurisdiction to hear petty criminal matters in the first instance without a jury.

The powers of justices of the peace and of police magistrates to sit as petty sessions were ultimately codified in the New South Wales Acts of 1835 (2 Victoria 2) and of 1850 (14 Victoria 43). This latter New South Wales Act ultimately formed the basis of the Queensland "Justices Act of 1886", which legislated for the appointment by the Governor in Council of districts for the holding of Courts of Petty sessions. Stanthorpe was appointed to be a place for holding Courts of Petty Sessions in 1872.

Under the "Justices Act Amendment Act 1964", from 1 January 1965 onwards: all Courts of petty sessions districts were deemed to be Magistrates Courts districts, all places previously appointed for the holding of Courts of Petty Sessions were deemed to be places for the holding of magistrates courts, all clerks of petty sessions were deemed to be registrars of magistrates courts.

Under a number of further Acts, the establishment of a place for the holding of a Court of Petty Sessions was deemed to establish a number of further courts, for example, Magistrates Courts, Fair Rents Courts, Small Debts Courts. This agency definition will however be concerned purely with the Court of Petty Sessions sitting as this court.

Courts of Petty Sessions had petty criminal jurisdiction and jurisdiction for summary actions of ejectment between lessors and lessees. Petty criminal jurisdiction is a complicated matter of law involving numerous Commonwealth and State statutes but can be briefly described as jurisdiction over summary trials of simple offences and committal proceedings for indictable offences sent to the Supreme Court.

In practice, if not in statute, Courts of Petty Sessions were divided into three courts: Police Court (prosecutions commenced by police), Summons Court (prosecutions and proceedings for ejectment commenced by private prosecutors) and Traffic Court.

Colonial Secretary NSW 12 Feb 1850 - 10 Dec 1859
Colonial Secretary 10 Dec 1859 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary 6 Aug 1896 - 27 Jan 1904
Attorney General 27 Jan 1904 - 19 Nov 1907
Minister of Justice 19 Nov 1907 - 18 Feb 1908
Attorney General 18 Feb 1908 - 22 Oct 1919
Minister of Justice 22 Oct 1919 - 7 Apr 1920
Attorney General 7 Apr 1920 - 14 Nov 1957
Minister for Justice and Attorney General 14 Nov 1957 - 31 Dec 1964

Magistrates Courts were already in existence when Courts of Petty Sessions ceased to operate in 1964 and they took over most of the functions formerly carried out by the Petty Sessions Courts.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID11850, Court of Petty Sessions, Stanthorpe
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form