Under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", the Pine Divisional Board became the Pine Shire Council on 31 March 1903.
Under the "Local Authorities Act 1902", the primary function of Shire Councils was to provide such public services and amenities as roads, bridges, water, sanitation and drainage, public health services, parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, street lighting, etc.
Council also had powers in relation to the construction of buildings, fire prevention, public nuisances, places of amusement, public carriers, slaughter houses, markets, animals and traffic. Increased powers were given to Council by subsequent local government legislation, for example, in the areas of public health, building regulation, town planning and the environment, public utilities and business undertakings.
The Council was also responsible for administering the Local Fund, and until 1944, for valuing properties within the Shire for the purpose of determining and collecting rates, which together with endowments and loans formed its revenue base. The general powers of Council were exercised through the passing of by-laws approved by Governor-in-Council.
The Shire was governed by a rate-payer elected council comprising a chairman and councillors. Special or general purpose committees were appointed reporting to Council. Council appointed its own officers to administer its business, headed by a Shire Clerk.
Various boundary changes affected the jurisdiction of the Council, particularly in 1921 and 1959.
The name of the council was changed from Pine Shire to Pine Rivers Shire by proclamation on 23 May 1959.