Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID11113
TitleEinasleigh Divisional Board
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 11/11/1879
End Date 30/3/1903
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Divisional Boards Acts to provide local administration and public services in areas outside municipalities.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
18744Contract Ledger 3/6/1863 30/3/1903
18725Valuation Registers and Rate Books and Cards 1/1/1881 30/3/1903
18752Warden's Register of Properties 1/1/1881 30/3/1903
18755Correspondence Subject Files 1/1/1882 30/3/1903
18728Minutes and Agendas 12/8/1882 30/3/1903
18749Register of Inwards Correspondence 4/9/1882 30/3/1903
18741Account Ledgers 20/10/1882 30/3/1903
18746General Cash Books 20/10/1882 30/3/1903
18727Rate Cash Books 13/11/1882 30/3/1903
18761Inwards Correspondence 1/1/1883 30/3/1903
18750Letterbooks 9/5/1884 30/3/1903
18747Financial Papers 1/7/1888 30/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Details of controlling agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Agency IDTitle
11076Etheridge Shire Council
  Back to Top

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Divisional Boards Act 1879
Queensland Government Gazette 1879, vol. XXV, no. 75, p. 1001
Queensland Government Gazette 1919, vol. CXII, no. 88, p. 846
Local Authorities Act 1902
Back to Top


Establishing Divisional Boards Act 1879
Abolishing Local Authorities Act 1902
Administered Divisional Boards Act 1879
Back to Top
The "Divisional Boards Act of 1879" established Divisional Boards for the purpose of providing local government for portions of the colony outside the boundaries of municipalities. The first Divisional Boards were proclaimed on 11 Nov 1879. Subsequent to the "Divisional Boards Act of 1887", the Einasleigh Divisional Board was established on 11 November 1879.

The primary function of the Divisional Board was to provide such public services and amenities as roads, bridges, water, sanitation and drainage, public health services, parks and reserves, cemeteries, etc. The Divisional Board also had powers in relation to the construction of buildings, fire prevention, public nuisances, places of amusement, public carriers, slaughter houses, markets, animals, traffic, etc.

The Board was also responsible for administering the Local Fund, and, for valuing properties within the Division for the purpose of determining and collecting rates, which together with endowments and loans formed its revenue base. The general powers of the Board were exercised through by-laws approved by Governor-in-Council.

The Division was governed by a rate-payer elected Board comprising a chairman and a number of members. Special or general purpose committees were appointed and the Board employed its own officers to administer its business, headed by a Clerk. Divisional Boards submitted an annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister.

The "Local Authorities Act 1902" abolished divisional boards and created city, town and shire councils. Existing divisional boards were constituted as shire councils. Under this Act, on 31 Mar 1903, the Einasleigh Divisional Board became the Einasleigh Shire Council (which was renamed Etheridge Shire Council on 15 Mar 1919).

Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID11113, Einasleigh Divisional Board
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form