Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID10975
TitleMurilla Shire Council
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 31/3/1903
End Date 15/3/2008
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Local Authorities Act to provide local administration and public services outside of major urban areas

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
18555Valuation and Rate Books 31/3/1903 31/12/1966
18558Minute Books 31/3/1903 16/6/1997
18556Rates Ledger Cards 1/7/1966 30/6/1990
18557Agenda Books 1/12/1996 30/11/2005
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
123Home Secretary's Office 31/3/1903 5/12/1935
126Health and Home Affairs Department 5/12/1935 10/12/1941
231Local Government Department I 10/12/1941 7/12/1989
248Housing and Local Government Department 7/12/1989 24/9/1992
249Department of Housing, Local Government and Planning 24/9/1992 26/2/1996
10727Department of Local Government, Sport and Recreation 26/2/2004 15/3/2008
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Agency IDTitle
11021Murilla Divisional Board
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Information Sources

Local Authorities Act 1902
Local Government and Regionalism in Queensland, 1859 to 1977, C.P.Harris, ANU, Canberra, 1978, pp. 13-60, 79-84 passim
Local Government Reform Implementation Act 2007
Local Government (Areas) Regulation 2008, Schedule 1
Queensland Subordinate Legislation 2008, nos. 23-26
"What's happened to my Council", Report of the Local Government Reform Commission 2008, vol. 1, pp. 14 - 26
Local Government, Sport and Recreation Department, "Implementation Regulation", viewed 28 Feb 2008,
Back to Top


Establishing N/A
Abolishing N/A
Administered Local Authorities Act 1902
Local Government Act 1936
Local Government Act 1993
Back to Top
The "Local Authorities Act 1902" abolished divisional boards and created city, town and shire councils. Thus, existing divisional boards were constituted as shire councils. Under this Act, on 31 Mar 1903, the Murilla Shire Council was created assuming the powers and functions of the defunct Murilla Divisional Board. The shire encompassed the towns of Miles, Drillham, Dulacca, Condamine and the surrounding areas.

The primary function of shire councils as provided by the Local Authorities Act was to provide such public services and amenities as roads, bridges, water, sanitation and drainage, public health services, parks and reserves, cemeteries, libraries and recreational facilities, street lighting, etc.

Council also had powers in relation to the construction of buildings, fire prevention, public nuisances, places of amusement, public carriers, slaughter houses, markets, animals and traffic, etc. Increased powers were given to Council by subsequent local government legislation, for example, in the areas of public health, building regulation, town planning and the environment, public utilities and business undertakings.

The Council was also responsible for administering the Local Fund, and for valuing properties within the shire for the purpose of determining and collecting rates, which together with endowments and loans formed its revenue base. The general powers of Council were exercised through the passing of by-laws approved by Governor-in-Council.

The shire was governed by a rate-payer elected council comprising a Chairman/Mayor and Councillors. Special or general purpose committees reporting to the full Council (e.g. Works, Finance, Water and Sewerage, Parks and Gardens, Environmental Health, etc) were appointed for managing those functions. Council appointed its own officers to administer its business, headed by a Shire Clerk/Chief Executive Officer. The shire was divided for electoral and administrative purposes into three divisions, centered on the towns of Miles, Drillham and Dulacca and Condamine.

On 15 March 2008, Murilla Shire amalgamated with Dalby Town, Wambo, Tara and Chinchilla Shires and Division 2 of Taroom Shire (Wandoan area) to form Dalby Region.
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID10975, Murilla Shire Council
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form