Agency Details

Click on the series title to view series details.
Agency ID10768
TitleIndooroopilly Divisional Board
Agency TypeLocal government authority
Start Date 2/6/1880
End Date 31/3/1903
Date NotesN/A

Created under the Divisional Boards Acts to provide local administration and public services in areas outside municipalities.

Go to Description...


Series IDTitleFromTo
3639By Laws 1/1/1901 31/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlling Agencies

Agency IDTitleFromTo
8481Public Works Department (I) 1/1/1881 12/12/1887
236Mines and Works Department 12/12/1887 4/1/1890
2723Public Works Department II 4/1/1890 23/7/1891
107Colonial Secretary's Office 23/7/1891 6/8/1896
123Home Secretary's Office 6/8/1896 31/3/1903
  Back to Top

Controlled Agencies

Details of controlled agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Previous Agencies

Details of previous agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Subsequent Agencies

Related Agencies

Details of related agencies do not exist or are unavailable.
  Back to Top

Finding Aids

This agency has no finding aids.
  Back to Top
Publication Notes
This agency has no publication notes.
  Back to Top


Also controlled by Colonial Secretary 2 Jun 1880 - 1 Jan 1881
Back to Top

Information Sources

Divisional Boards Act 1887
Queensland Government Gazette 11 Nov 1879, Vol.XXV, No.75, p.993
Queensland Government Gazette 15 May 1880, Vol. XXVI, No.71, p.1144
Queensland Government Gazette 5 Jun 1880, Vol.XXVI, No.87, pp.167, 1314
Queensland Government Gazette 18 Dec 1880, Vol.XXVII, No.106, p.105
Harris C.P., Local Government and Regionalism in Queensland, 1859 to 1977, Canberra: ANU, 1978, pp. 13-41 passim, 79-80
Greenwood G and Laverty J, Brisbane 1859-1959, A History of Local Government, Brisbane: O L Ziegler and BCC, 1959, p.253
Back to Top


Establishing Divisional Boards Act 1879
Abolishing Local Authorities Act 1902
Administered N/A
Back to Top
The Divisional Boards Act of 1879 established Divisional Boards for the purpose of providing local government for portions of the colony outside the boundaries of municipalities. The district which was later to become the Indooroopilly Division was proclaimed as the Toowong Divisional Board on 11 Nov 1879. The more populated area of the district was severed from the Toowong Division and proclaimed as the Shire of Toowong on 20 May 1880. The remaining area of the Toowong Division was renamed the Indooroopilly Divisional Board on 2 June 1880.

The primary function of the Divisional Board was to provide such public services and amenities as roads, bridges, water, sanitation and drainage, public health services, parks and reserves, cemeteries, etc. The Divisional Board also had powers in relation to the construction of buildings, fire prevention, public nuisances, places of amusement, public carriers, slaughter houses, markets, animals, traffic, etc.

The Board was responsible for administering the Local Fund, and, for valuing properties within the Division for the purpose of determining and collecting rates, which together with endowments and loans, formed its revenue base. The general powers of the Board were exercised through by-laws approved by Governor-in-Council.

The Division was governed by a rate-payer elected Board comprising a chairman and a number of members. Special or general purpose committees were appointed and the Board employed its own officers to administer its business, headed by a Clerk. Divisional Boards submitted an annual Statement of Revenue and Expenditure to the Minister.

The Local Authorities Act 1902 abolished Divisional Boards and created City, Town and Shire Councils. Thus existing Divisional Boards were constituted as Shire Councils. Under this Act, on 31 Mar 1903, the Indooroopilly Divisional Board became the Indooroopilly Shire Council.

Colonial Secretary 2 Jun 1880 - 1 Jan 1881
Secretary for Public Works and Mines 1 Jan 1881 - 12 Dec 1887
Secretary for Mines and Works 12 Dec 1887 - 4 Jan 1890
Secretary for Railways and Public Works 4 Jan 1890 - 12 Aug 1890
Secretary for Public Works 12 Aug 1890 - [by] 23 Jul 1891
Colonial Secretary [by] 23 Jul 1891 - 6 Aug 1896
Home Secretary 6 Aug 1896 - 31 Mar 1903
Back to Top

Preferred Citation

Queensland State Archives Agency ID10768, Indooroopilly Divisional Board
Back to Top
Last updated 9 September 2016
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Share :

Is your feedback about:

Page feedback

How satisfied are you with your experience today?*


Feedback on government services, departments and staff

Please use our complaints and compliments form