The Colonial Architect's Office, New South Wales, was established in 1832 with responsibility for the planning, construction and repair of public buildings, and from 1844, public works, within New South Wales, including Moreton Bay.
During the period of the Moreton Bay penal settlement, 1824 - 1842, public works were the direct responsiblity of the Superintendent of Works who reported to the Commandant. Following the establishment of free settlement in 1842, the Police Magistrate, Moreton Bay, was regarded as the senor official, although not in charge of other officers. Tenders for public works in Moreton Bay were gazetted by the Colonial Secretary's Office, New South Wales, with instructions that they were to be filed with the Colonial Architect. With the appointment of the Government Resident, Moreton Bay, in 1853, all correspondence passed through his office before being forwarded to the Colonial Secretary's Office, New South Wales.
Public works in Moreton Bay continued to be the responsiblity of the Colonial Architect's Office, New South Wales, until the separation of Queensland from New South Wales. From 10 December 1859, public works became the responsibility of the Queensland Colonial Secretary's Office.